Joyful Activities

The Thanksgiving Janus Day

What does this mean? The Thanksgiving Janus?

Well. I must say that I have to begin with something else entirely.

First. I love holidays. I absolutely cannot wait for The BIG Three every year: Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. I get excited for Easter and I always wear red on Valentines Day. And I never forget Flag Day (big moment in History!).

But I hate New Year’s. New Year’s Day does not appropriately encompass the feelings and emotions that I believe that it should. The month of January was named after the Roman God, Janus, who had two faces: one looking forward and one looking back. I think that a year seems to go by so fast and so slow at the same time, that by December 31st we just want to do something bigger and better the next year. It is truly hard to really look backwards and forwards at the same time.

I hate that January gets this “Janus” factor and not Thanksgiving. And I wish that we could morph being thankful and reflecting on past and future into one holiday.

But we can! The Thanksgiving Janus. Thanus? Janksgiving? Doesn’t work. But the morphology isn’t important here. But today, right now, we can lay down our modern tendencies of capital and misleading traditions and truly have a moment of looking at life as it is.

What I want is a day of pure reflection and thankfulness. No shopping. No special midnight kissing. No feeling like you were left out by not being invited to a swanky get together. Just a day to slow down and acknowledge where you have been, where you are, and where you want to go. (Oh, and no feeling too fat for your stretchy pants).

So today I have reflected. I have come to see that I am a goal setter and a goal reacher. My husband has been a great source of encouragement. My friends have been unconditionally accepting. My God has been humbling. I have so many dreams and goals that I want to reach, but most importantly, I want to live in a way that doesn’t take these precious things for granted.

Of course, reflection and being janus isn’t something that should come once a year; but today has been a wonderful moment of slow thoughts and peaceful dreaming.

Happy Thanksgiving Janus Day

Leave a Reply

