Joyful Activities · Out and About

Adventure: The Blue Hole

This past weekend Jared and I went to a place called “The Blue Hole” on the Ocoee River. We love doing things outdoors and now that summer has officially arrived we were so excited to do something new. I had been to this spot on the river before about 4 years ago and did not like it, but a few of our friends and Jared were insistent upon going because it is a pretty iconic spot that mostly everyone raves about. So we went.

It was a blast! I did not spend too much time in the river because I forgot the right kind of shoes… (not on purpose) and one of our friends could not get in the water because of a previous injury that could not get wet. But everyone else loved the river and the weather was perfect. We went on a hike too and that was absolutely great (besides the plethora of baby snakes). Afterwards we went to an overlook (I think it was called Boyd’s gap) and we saw fantastic views of the mountains and the river, plus a few old hippies smoking pot. We had such a great time with our friends and we were so blessed for a little break from studies and preparations for graduation.

Over the summer I hope to take more adventures and would encourage anyone to get out and do something in the sun! It made me feel so happy to have my skin and hair soak in the sun and to feel so warm after such a long winter. I love the feeling of being active and being outside. I would never call myself an adventurist, (like, I am never going to hike the appalachian trail or catch a wild animal with a trap I built myself, or even pee in the woods) but these little mini adventures always make me so joyful! I can’t wait for our next excursion! Rafting maybe?

 

The top is the married group, and the bottom is our two single bachelors. We took so many pictures, but these are my faves
The top is the married group, and the bottom is our two single bachelors. We took so many pictures, but these are my faves
Leave a Reply

